My First Conference in Ecuador

Hola, how is my awesome family???

Wow it is so great to hear from you all and hear about all that you`re all doing!! Thank you all for the pictures and the awesome emails! I love hearing about all of you and all you`re doing!! Kristie, wow I hear you are the volleyball champ! Everything I hear from everyone is that you are doing so awesome and keep the team going! Dad said you are a blocking monster!!! Blocks are seriously the sweetest! Way to go!! And Garr… Wow but I don`t even know what to say about your football game! I seriously don`t think I`ve ever met or will ever meet anyone else that can break their arm and two weeks later, make the winning play of the game! That`s my brother!!! Good job bud and thanks for the picture of you and Carter! It`s good to hear that the fall work is going well! I hope you are all doing well and I pray for your health and safety everyday!!
Also Wow how exciting that Tyler Hess and Allie both got their mission calls this week!!! Missions are truly life changing and I`m so excited for both of them! We are all called to specific places at specific times and I know that the Lord is so mindful of them! How exciting that Elizabeth and Melissa are getting married so close together! I`ll be anxious to see all the pictures!!
Well things here have been super great this week!! First, starting on monday, We got to teach our investigator Glenda and her son Oliver again and this time her daughter who is 20 sat in on the lesson and she was so receptive of all the things we were teaching and by the end of the lesson was asking questions like `so what are the requirements to be baptized?` She just needs to get married and then she will be golden!!!
On Tuesday we had our zone conference in Pedro Carbo and our zone is so great! Our zone leaders showed us how we can incoorperate family history into teaching and contacting, so that was really neat to try! President Dennis also came and urgently told us the need that we had to invite people to conference to listen to the prophet, so after that, everyone we talked to we would tell them that we had a very important weekend in the church and invited as many to conference as we could! That really strengthened my testimony of the importantce of attending and listening to conference and made me so grateful that we have living prophets and apostles on the earth today to lead and guide us. One of our less actives also had an interview that night so he is so close to being rescued and it`s so exciting to see! He has come to church faithfully the last few weeks and he truly looks happier than he did when we first met him! It is so awesome to see the difference that the gospel makes in people`s lives!
Wednesday we got fed two lunches… haha that was the first time that has happened and I litterally didn`t eat for the rest of the day because I was so stuffed, but the people here are so kind and will literally give you everything they have! I also have been able to eat freshly picked guava, mango, oranges… you name it and they have it here! It is so awesome!! We also had another lesson with Glenda this day and we had previously taught her the Word of Wisdom and when we went over to her house she had a super bad headache because she hadn´t drank coffee for a few days and we testified to her that she was doing the right thing and she said ´I`m going to be strong. I know that this is how I need to follow the commandments fo God.` she is so strong and is doing so well and it is so fun to teach her and her family! I look forward to going over to their house to see and teach them!
Thursday was probably one of the busiest and best days in my mission so far. We got to teach 8 lessons taht day and found 3 new investigators! I know taht the Lord blesses us when we set goals and work hard and that we couldn`t have had that great of a day without his help!
Friday was also a great day of teaching! We found a new family to start taeaching and they were really receptive! We had an awesome lesson with them about the restoration and the spirit was really strong! At the end of the lesson we asked if we could all kneel and if the guy Jorge would offer the prayer and ask if what we had taught was true. We all knelt down and all the sudden Jorge yelled and stood up faster than I`ve ever seen anyone move! It kind of scared us, but he grabbed his leg and said àhhh my leg cramped! then he kneeled back down and jumped up again because his leg cramped again! His wife was literally bent over leaning on the chair crying laughing and I had tears rolling down my cheeks I was laughing so hard! haha, but we finally said the prayer and the spirit came back and that was so fun and such a cool lesson! We also had a FHE with a family that nighta and they invited all of their family members and we had a great lesson about our ancestors and how they need us just as much as we need them. We had everyone go around and tell a story about one of their family members that had passed away and it was a really spiritual and awesome night!
Saturday and Sunday were so awesome! We would go out before every session and try to bring people that had committed to come to the sessions and I think we had 9 people total attend! Hna Twitchell from Utah and I got to go listen to the talks in English (Yay) and Wow! I don`t know if it`t because I`m on a mission or if the talks were just extra good this time but I was so uplifted by each talk!! I loved the talk by Elder Holland about our mothers and I sted a few tears thinking about how blessed I am to have the mom that I do and that he described perfectly!! I also loved the talk about memorizing a scripture every week and how that is a way that we can continually keep our thoughts on more spiritual things! This is my new goal and I hope that we can all make this a family goal and check up on each other with it! I am so grateful for all of you and for the knowledge taht we have that we can bef families forever! this truly is the greatest blessing we can receive in this life and I know it is only possible through the Savior and his atonement and that if we continually repent that we can be worthy of this! I am so grateful to be here as a missionary and I love you all do much! Have a great week and please be safe!!
All my love, Hermana Hawkesunnamed
Leave a Reply

