Letter for the Ward

A day in the life of Hermana Hawkes

First I wake up and pray. Then I pray with my companion! That is one thing I love about being a missionary is that we pray so many times everyday! Then we exercise for 30 minutes and have an hour to get ready for the day! Then I get an hour of personal study, an hour of companion study, and an hour to study SPANISH!!!  I honestly love all the time that we get to study and my testimony is growing so much! After that, we get to go out and work for about 2 hours, and then we go to a member`s house for lunch! We always eat the biggest lunch ever with a bowl of soup and then another plate with some kind of meat and rice!! We eat a ton of rice! We also have a ton of fruits here, most of them I have never even heard of, but it is so much fun and we get to pick mangos straight off the tree to eat! I love the fruit here! Then we go out and work from about 2 until 9 at night! After that we plan for a half hour and then get ready and go to bed. Something I love here is that everyone is so friendly! Everyone always says hi to each other on the street and the first time you meet someone you kiss them on the cheek… unless it`s a man, then you just shake hands! 😉 We are almost always invited into the houses here and the people are really willing to listen! They don`t always want to progress, but they are super nice in that they always listen! Another fun fact is that we ride around in moto taxis, which is a motor cycle with a little cab on the back! We don`t have to climb any hills here and the members are so awesome and help us a ton! I love the people here!

Dear Ashton 4th ward,

I would like you all to know that I am fully convinced that we have the best ward in the world! I have been to some awesome wards in my life and in my mission, but 4th ward will always feel like home! I have heard that the missionary work is pushing forward in the ward and that is so exciting!! Members are so key in missionary work and the more that we all help the missionaries with visits or being extra kind when someone is investigating the church, the more we will be able to help our brothers and sisters to find the gospel! I know that this gospel is true! It is true in all the world and the missionary work is pushing forward!! Something that I have loved this month is that we have focused on helping people think of things that they can give to the Savior! We are all busy wondering what we are going to give our family and friend, but what is it that we can give to the Savior, who has given us so much in our lives? Maybe it is our faithful attendance at church, more service to those around us, inviting a non member to church, or reading our scriptures more faithfully! Whatever it may be, I invite each of  you to think of something that you can give to the Savior during this time of the year! This chruch is true! I know that Joseph Smith was a prophet of God and that he restored the church! I also know that the Book of Mormon is true and is the keystone to our religion! It is such a treasure that we have all these truths in our lives and a knowledge of the plan that Heavenly Father has created for all of us! I pray for you all and hope you have a happy holiday and enjoy your families and friends in this wonderful time of the year! Love, Hermana Hawkes

Leave a Reply

