Another week in paradise

Hello Family!!
Wow, it looks like you all had such a fun week! Thank you for the fun updates and the pictures! I can`t believe how much you are all growing up and the love that I can feel in our family, even far away in Ecuador! I am always so happy to hear that you are all happy and safe, and hope that you all know how much I love you all!!
This week we got to go to Guayaquil for a Sister`s Conference, and it was kind of sad because this is the last one that we will have with President and Sister Dennis! They talked to us a lot about making good plans and decisions in our lives and gave us so many great councils! We got to have the conference in their house in Guayaquil and it was so much fun and so spiritually uplifting! Funny story… I was sitting right by the AC vent and usually I love it, but I FROZE!!! I told my companion that I am going to freeze to death in Idaho!!

This past week was the final training week for Hna Ramalho. It is crazy to think that she is already done with her training, and it has been great to see the progress that she has made. I truly love her and love her excitement for the gospel and for the mission. It is fun to think back to when she came and the great changes that she has made!! She is so positive, and her happiness and initiative really make the people want to listen to her! She is extrememly aware of everything that goes on and is always worried for the lessons or investigators, and it has truly helped us to push forward in the work together, sharing the worries and the work to be done!

This week we were also so blessed to have a baptism. Jeremy Leòn (the last of the family with the age to be baptized) was baptized by his dad Hector, and it is such a blessing to see this awesome family progress in the gospel. The mom Cecilia bore her testimony at the end and said that she was so happy that her son was baptized and that she is so excited to progress in this next year to be able to be sealed in the temple with all of her family. I love that the gospel always helps us focus on the next goal or the next things we need to do in our lives. There is always a goal to reach and things to improve, and I know that this will be for all of this life, and for after! I have truly come to love teaching people of the perfect plan that our Heavenly Father has created for each of us personally, and it is so great when the investigators come to realize their purpose! We were teaching a lady named Suli this week and once we talked after and it was like we were just reminding her of something she had already learned, and it really sparked a fire in her! We are going to visit her tonight and I can`t wait to keep helping her and teaching her more!

I had also always heard of people calling to the missionaries on the streets and telling them that they wanted to be taught but never had that experience. Yesterday we were out contacting and walking past a street that we walk by all the time and a lady started talking to us, so we asked if we could share a message with her, and she said yes! We shared a short message with her and she was so receptive and told us that when she decides that she wants to do something that she will do it, and that she liked what she heard and wants to change her life, so we are really excited for her!

We also found another couple that we were able to teach, and they had some pretty crazy ideas… but we taught them the Restoration, and they understood it really well, and the wife said that she felt an emptiness inside and is looking for something to fill this feeling! Heavenly Father is truly preparing these people, and I hope that we can be instruments in His hands in order to bring our brothers and sisters to the knowledge of the perfect gospel that he has given us.

I am so grateful to be here and for all that I am learning. I know that this is the true gospel of Jesus Christ and that is changes lives! I hope you have a great week!

Love, Hermana Hawkes

P.S. I tried sending pictures, but it didn`t work so I will try again next week!

Leave a Reply

