Another sunny week in La Florida!

Dear family,
Wow, it has been another week already! The time ticks away faster than I am able to comprehend and I love hearing from all of you and all that you are doing! I hope that you all had a great Father´s Day and were able to spend some good qualitiy time together!!!

Happy happy birthday to Tycey this week!! 🙂

This has been a great week here in La Florida and I finally feel like I am starting to get the hang of our area, how to work in it, and getting to know my companions and the people. I have started to love what we are doing and I feel like we are finding a good balance in the things that we are doing. It has been so much fun for me this week to finally start getting to studying nursing and I truly feel like this was an extremely inspired calling! I love to learn and it makes me be more patient with others and myself, and rely on the Lord even more because I know that I can´t do any  of this without His help.

We were so blessed in our sector this week and truly saw the promises of Elder Rasband completed. It was amazing because we asked for referrals allll day and nobody was really interested, but then in our last lesson of the day, we went to visit a less active member and his 2 aunts were there visiting and they were interested to listen to us! Their names are Martha and Janet and they are so humble and so nice and we got to teach them the Restoration, and then we went back two days later and taught them about the Book of Mormon. When we went back, they both said that they received their answers of Joseph Smith and of the Book of Mormon and that they know it´s true! They also attended stake conference on sunday and seemed really happy afterward! We are excited to keep working with them and helping them to keep gaining this special testimony!

We have also been so blessed to find some new less actives and the majority are young single adults that we can see that they have a testimony, but have just forgotten it! I am so excited to work with them because I know that they will be able to see the blessings of the gospel in their lives again and come back to the church!

A few more of the highlights we had this week were that we found a family of 6!!! We haven´t been able to teach the dad, but the mom and the 4 kids are so awesome and I am so excited for them! As we were teaching them about the Restoration, the three teenage boys were so excited about Joseph Smith and said that they were going to pray, and this week they are going to be able to attend church! We also had stake conference this weekend and Elder Calderón came and wow… he explained our Area Plan so well!! Please in whatever callings you have, GO LOOK FOR THOSE THAT ARE LOST!!!  Just like Christ went looking for the 1 lost sheep, if we will even find one person per year, we are helping so much in this work! In your classes, quorums,… please go look for those that are lost and help them come back! they need this happiness that we have!! 🙂

I have truly come to see and love the incredible blessings that the gospel brings into our lives individually and as families! I know that when we live these principles and truly come to love the gospel, that Heavenly Father blesses us with things that we never even knew or imagined! I can truly feel that Heavenly Father is shaping me with the refiner´s fire and at times I just feel overwhelmed, but I know that it is because I am learning to rely completely on The Atonement in my life and can truly feel this love when I slow down and am thankful for everything that I have and that happens, including the hard times or trials. I know that Heavenly Father loves each of us and has given us weaknesses to be able to learn and grow and become better people. I am so grateful to be here and for the amazing sisters that I am serving with. I know that I am with each of them for a very specific reason and that I have so much to learn from each of them. I love you all so much and am so grateful for all your support and help! I pray for you all daily and know that through our obedience as a family will bring incredible blessings!!! I love you all and hope you have a great and safe week!!
Love, Hermana Hawkes

image

image

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

