New week, new adventures

Dear family, 

Wow, what a joy it is to hear from all of you and to hear how you are all doing!! I love to see the pictures and the emails and love the updates every week!! Thank you so much for your encouragement and love! I truly can feel it all the way here in Ecuador! 🙂
This week has been full of fun and lots of new things!! Starting on Tuesday, we got to go to the airport to help pick up new missionaries from the airport! 5 sisters and 3 elders came which means we also got to give our nurse presentation to all of them and help them know the basics… what they can and cant eat here, what to do in different situations, etc. I truly love this calling that I have been given here on my mission and the unique and awesome opportunity that I have to be a nurse! Anyway, my companion Hermana Hernandez got called to train, but was still my compaion. So we are now in a trio and we are both sort of training, but mostly her! I get to go work a lot with the members and it has been so much fun and such a challenge in this last week! 🙂 Our new companion is Hermana Jarpa and she is from Chile! She is so positive and it is so fun to see her progress in just one short week! 
This week we were able to visit a family of less actives named the Cedeño family. They are both about 25 and have two little kids. They have been inactive for about 2 years, and know what is right but it is just hard for them to repent and come back to church. We had such an awesome lesson with them during the week, probably one of the most spiritual lessons of my mission as we taught them the restoration. They were kind of hesitant to commit to going to church, or even praying, but we felt the spirit so strongly with them. So sunday came and we called them at 1:30 (church starts at 2) and the husband said that his wife was getting ready to go, but he wasnt. We tried to encourage him and said that we would be waiting for him in church. Sacrament meeting started and they weren`t there, and to be honest I was a little sad. I was praying so hard for them but knew that they had to choose and that Heavenly Father loves them no matter what. After the sacrament I looked up, and in they walked with their whole family!! My companions and I were so excited and it was fun to see their determination to come to church and start taking these steps in their lives! I know Heavenly Father hears and answers prayers and that He loves each and every one of His children! 
I love you all so much and hope you have an awesome week!!! 

Love, Hermana Hawkes 

Leave a Reply

